SUMMER OFFICE HOURS:  M - F  10a - 8p; SAT. 8a-2p
FALL/SPRING OFFICE HOURS:   M - F 2p - 8p; SAT. 8a-2p

© 2019 by a DRVNG4ce

Not all traffic citation tickets qualify for dismissal with defensive driving. (If yours doesn’t, that doesn’t necessarily mean you should avoid taking a class though).

Here are some guidelines concerning moving violations and their eligibility for defensive driving dismissal in Texas:

  • The citation must be for a moving violation – This means that if your citation is for a registration, inspection, parking or similar violation, you’ll just have to pay it.

  • A ticket for excessive speed cannot be dismissed – In most jurisdictions, “excessive” is defined as 95 mph or above or 25 mph over the posted speed limit, unless in a school zone or other specialized situation.

  • Citations written for “serious traffic violations” cannot be dismissed – Things like reckless driving or major injury of any passengers involved in the collision.

  • Citations written for passing a school bus cannot be dismissed – Passing when lights were flashing or children were present.

  • Citations written in work zones cannot be dismissed – Nobody speeds through your office, right?

  • Drivers holding a CDL cannot dismiss a traffic ticket – Even in their personal vehicles.

  • Drivers can only dismiss tickets with a driving safety class once every 12 months – Usually; check with your court if you are over 25.
     

These guidelines are used universally by courts across the state, but some (like “excessive speed” and “serious traffic violation”) leave a little room for interpretation by the judge. If your citation falls into one of these gray areas, contact the court on which your citation was written and ask for clarification.

What are 
the options?

Next upcoming class: 

NOVEMBER 23 & 24, 3P - 6P
**please register by 11/22/19

WEIGHING  THE 
TOTAL $  COSTS

TAKE DEFENSIVE DRIVING CLASS:

   Court Processing > $100
    + DDC class <$25
    + MVR report <$15

      =  $140 TOTAL $ NOW, BUT 

   3 YRS OF CONTINUED INSURANCE     
   PREMIUM DISCOUNTS!

 

*No Safety Points, nor Insurance premium increases, AND you are guaranteed to learn something new!

DO NOTHING:

   DRIVER LICENSE REVOCATION $125 REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION FEE
      + AUTOMATIC RIDE TO JAIL WHEN CAUGHT DRIVING,

+  $500 BOND

+ LOSS OF WORK INCOME

+ LEGAL FEES

+ iNCREASED INSURANCE PREMIUMS
=  WAY TOO EXPENSIVE

JUST PAY THE FINE:

     Court Processing > $100
    + FINE ADDED < $100  >

    + Insurance goes up for 3 yrs $$$

            =  $350+ TOTAL $

TAKE IT TO THE JUDGE and LOSE:
Court Processing > $100
+ TIME OFF WORK > $70
+ FINE ADDED < $100  >

+ Insurance increase 3 yrs

 + Safety Resp. Points 
            =  $450++ TOTAL $

TAKE IT TO THE JUDGE and WIN:

$ 0,But what are the  odds?

Texas Legislature removed the present Surcharges on all Safety Responsibility points assessed on Driver Licenses as of September 1, 2019.  Watch the mail for your letter. 

Defensive Driving Safety course

6 hour course for Ticket Dismissal, or Insurance Reduction